Bayelsa guber: APC declares Sylva winner


Amid intrigues and bitter in-fighting, former Governor of Bayelsa State,Chief Timipre Sylva Tuesday night emerged flag-bearer of the All Progressive Congress (APC) primary election.
Although Oshiomhole was absent, four members of the electoral panel were present in the election held amidst tight security with AIG Felix Adeniake  in attendance.
Sylva, who was declared winner by a member of the APC electoral Committee, Nelson Alabar, recorded a total number of 726 votes to defeat closest rival, and former member of the House of Representative,Hon. Warman Ogoriba ,who recorded  only 10 votes.
According to result declared at about 8pm, former NDDC Managing Director, Timi Alaibe, was awarded a total of four votes despite his absence during the electoral process.
In his acceptance speech, Sylva described his emergence a proof of the indivisibility of the APC in the state and  at the national level,”I have never been proud in my life.I have belonged to many political parties such as the defunct UNCP,the nearly dead PDP, but I am very proud of the APC with a very clear internal democracy.”
“A few years ago, I was unjustly stopped from contesting a governorship primary by my former party. My former party did that to me. A few days ago, they disqualified a serving senator from contesting.It is shameful. I have, once again, gone through a primary and emerged winner.It is contest like this that makes the difference.It is this contest that makes the difference between the APC and others.There is no doubt that we will win the election.”
Ogoriba,who spoke on behalf of other aspirants, accepted defeat and commended Sylva.
“I am proud of the APC for organising  a credible election with such outcome.It was a fight well fought.”‎


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here